301.519.9237 exdirector@nesaus.org

Public Safety Updates

  • NM: Village Board considers Alarm Ordinance
    8.27.20 – dchieftain, com – Magdalena – Fines are to be imposed for repeats of a false alarm. Upon a second false alarm within 12 months, the user will be fined $50…
  • PA: West Deer considers stiffer penalties for false alarms …
    8.25.20 – triblive – West Deer Supervisors are considering imposing harsher fines on people who own or maintain alarm systems that accidentally go off three or more times a year. … “You could have two false alarms and not receive a fine, but after two false alarms in a year period, you would receive a fine of $100,” Forbes said.

Industry News

  • ADT Sued for TCPA Violations – Tech –
    8.26.20 – LawStreetMedia – On Monday, Armania Ingram filed a Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) class-action complaint in the Eastern District of Tennessee against ADT LLC. The 13-page complaint contends that the plaintiff began receiving calls from ADT on her cell phone in July 2019. …
  • COPS Monitoring Believes It’s Incumbent to Be Redundant
    SSI – COPS received a TMA/SSI Monitoring Technology Marvel Award runner-up honor for providing peace of mind through its six redundant monitoring centers.

State & National News

Business Tips

Fire & EMS News

Crime News

The National Monitor is a service of the National Electronic Security Alliance (NESA). Member states are free to reproduce the information contained herein in print or electronic media as they see fit. Contact NESA for more information at 301.519.9237 or bradshipp@4yoursolution.com 

NESA is a federation of state associations established to serve and promote the electronic systems industry at the direction of, and through its affiliated state associations. Seven state associations are part of NESA – Arkansas Security Alarm Association (ASAA), Kansas Electronic Security Association (KESA), Louisiana Life Safety & Security Association (LLSSA),  Maryland Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (MDBFAA), Mississippi Security Association (MSA), Oklahoma Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (OKBFAA) and Texas Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (TBFAA).  For more info visit www.nesaus.org.

NESA Board of Directors

  • President – Chris Russell
  • Vice President & – Maryland Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Director – Craig Bober
  • Secretary – Kathleen Schraufnagel
  • Treasurer and Arkansas Security Alarm Assn. Director – Rick Howell
  • Past President – Jordon Brown
  • Kansas Electronic Security Alliance Director – Vacant
  • Louisiana Life Safety & Security Association Director – Dera DeRoche Jolet
  • Mississippi Security Association Director –  Jack Torrence
  • Oklahoma Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Director – Steven Brekel
  • Texas Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Director – John Helweg
  • Associate Director – Brian Villari
  • False Alarm Reduction Association Director – Kerri McDonald
  • Executive Director – Brad Shipp
  • Louisiana Life Safety & Security Association Alternate – Amy Fuselier
  • Mississippi Security Association Alternate – Shelley Pettit
  • Maryland Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Alternate –  Jim Emerick
  • Oklahoma Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Alternate – Danna Fowble
  • Texas Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Alternate –  Kelly Ryan
  • False Alarm Reduction Association Alternate – Alicia Vela