301.519.9237 exdirector@nesaus.org

Public Safety Updates


  • Municipalities around US work to attract dispatchers
    8.15.22 – WDIV-TV – Detroit – The Macomb County, Mich., Sheriff’s Office is holding a dispatcher recruitment event on Aug. 25, at which dispatchers will describe what their everyday work is like. Elsewhere, officials in Boone County, Mo., are considering salary increases to recruit more dispatchers, along with attending job fairs and advertising on various forms of media, while Gallatin County, Mont., is looking for dispatchers to help handle a 20% increase in call volume in the past four years.
  • It’s not just police officers. 911 dispatchers are also in short supply
    8.9.22 – KUOW-FM – Earlier this summer, the Washington State Patrol did something it’s never done before: close one of its eight regional communication centers used to answer 911 calls and dispatch troopers and other first responders to emergencies. The center, located in Wenatchee, had been plagued for years by understaffing and the situation showed no sign of improvement.
  • Current Resimercial Technology Trends
    8.18.22 – CEPro – Our Deep Dive Study shows a decline in number of resimercial technology installations and flat revenues expected for remainder of the year.

Business Tips

Crime News

The National Monitor is a service of the National Electronic Security Alliance (NESA). Member states are free to reproduce the information contained herein in print or electronic media as they see fit. Contact NESA for more information at 301.519.9237 or bradshipp@4yoursolution.com 

NESA is a federation of state associations established to serve and promote the electronic systems industry at the direction of, and through its affiliated state associations. Seven state associations are part of NESA – Arkansas Security Alarm Association (ASAA), Kansas Electronic Security Association (KESA), Louisiana Life Safety & Security Association (LLSSA), Maryland Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (MDBFAA), Mississippi Security Association (MSA), Oklahoma Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (OKBFAA) and Texas Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (TBFAA).  For more info visit www.nesaus.org.

NESA Board of Directors

  • President – Chris Russell
  • Vice President & – Maryland Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Director – Craig Bober
  • Secretary – Kathleen Schraufnagel
  • Treasurer and Arkansas Security Alarm Assn. Director – Rick Howell
  • Past President – Jordon Brown
  • Kansas Electronic Security Alliance Director – Vacant
  • Louisiana Life Safety & Security Association Director – Dera DeRoche Jolet
  • Mississippi Security Association Director –  Jack Torrence
  • Oklahoma Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Director – Steven Brekel
  • Texas Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Director – John Helweg
  • Associate Director – Brian Villari
  • False Alarm Reduction Association Director – Kerri McDonald
  • Executive Director – Brad Shipp
  • Louisiana Life Safety & Security Association Alternate – Amy Fuselier
  • Mississippi Security Association Alternate – Shelley Pettit
  • Maryland Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Alternate –  Jim Emerick
  • Oklahoma Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Alternate – Danna Fowble
  • Texas Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Alternate –  Kelly Ryan
  • False Alarm Reduction Association Alternate – Alicia Vela