301.519.9237 exdirector@nesaus.org

Public Safety Updates

  • New Orleans 9-1-1 revamps how calls are prioritized
    The Orleans Parish Communications District in New Orleans has upgraded its system so that past 9-1-1 calls no longer get prioritized the same way as ones in progress. April Heinze, 9-1-1 and PSAP operations director at the National Emergency Number Association, says the new practice is in line with other 9-1-1 agencies. Full Story: The Times-Picayune | The New Orleans Advocate (9/27) 
  • New tech lets 911 callers share live video with dispatchers
    WTHR-TV -Brown County is one of four Indiana counties that have adopted new technology for 911 calls. It’s software called Prepared Live and dispatchers say it can be a game-changer in responding to emergencies.
  • 9.28.22 – Oil City News – With false alarms on the rise, Casper Police propose stricter city ordinance · Third false alarm: $75 · Fourth false alarm: $150 · Fifth false …


Business Tips

Fire & Life Safety News

  • TN: Fire alarms help save Knoxville home
    9.28.22 – WATE – KFD said this instance serves as a great reminder to check fire alarms in the home regularly and change out the batteries in the detectors …

Crime News

The National Monitor is a service of the National Electronic Security Alliance (NESA). Member states are free to reproduce the information contained herein in print or electronic media as they see fit. Contact NESA for more information at 301.519.9237 or bradshipp@4yoursolution.com 

NESA is a federation of state associations established to serve and promote the electronic systems industry at the direction of, and through its affiliated state associations. Seven state associations are part of NESA – Arkansas Security Alarm Association (ASAA), Kansas Electronic Security Association (KESA), Louisiana Life Safety & Security Association (LLSSA), Maryland Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (MDBFAA), Mississippi Security Association (MSA), Oklahoma Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (OKBFAA) and Texas Burglar & Fire Alarm Association (TBFAA).  For more info visit www.nesaus.org.

NESA Board of Directors

  • President – Chris Russell
  • Vice President & – Maryland Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Director – Craig Bober
  • Secretary – Kathleen Schraufnagel
  • Treasurer and Arkansas Security Alarm Assn. Director – Rick Howell
  • Past President – Jordon Brown
  • Kansas Electronic Security Alliance Director – Vacant
  • Louisiana Life Safety & Security Association Director – Dera DeRoche Jolet
  • Mississippi Security Association Director –  Jack Torrence
  • Oklahoma Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Director – Steven Brekel
  • Texas Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Director – John Helweg
  • Associate Director – Brian Villari
  • False Alarm Reduction Association Director – Kerri McDonald
  • Executive Director – Brad Shipp
  • Louisiana Life Safety & Security Association Alternate – Amy Fuselier
  • Mississippi Security Association Alternate – Shelley Pettit
  • Maryland Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Alternate –  Jim Emerick
  • Oklahoma Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Alternate – Danna Fowble
  • Texas Burglar & Fire Alarm Assn. Alternate –  Kelly Ryan
  • False Alarm Reduction Association Alternate – Alicia Vela